Cooking Products


Ranges and ovens are consumer products that are designed to heat or cook different types of food. Each product may consist of a horizontal cooking top containing one or more surface units and/or one or more heating compartments. DOE refers to these products as conventional cooking products.


Congress enacted standards on ranges and ovens in 1987, effective 1990. The standard bans standing pilot lights in gas ranges and ovens that have an electrical supply cord. A second round of standards culminated with a final rule on April 8, 2009. DOE extended the "no standing pilot light" requirement to include all gas cooking products whether or not they have an electrical cord. DOE determined that standards for electric kitchen ranges and ovens did not warrant revision - a "no-standard" standard. In July 2015, DOE amended its test procedure for kitchen ranges and ovens.

DOE is in the midst of a rulemaking to update the standard levels with a final rule expected in 2016.

There are no ENERGY STAR specifications for ranges and ovens.


Virtually all U.S. households have a range/oven. Shipment data in DOE's 2009 final rule indicate a 62% market share for electric ranges and 38% for gas ranges.

Projected Savings

Cooking Products - Initial Legislation
Savings through what year?:
Energy saved (quads):
CO2 savings (million metric tons):
Net present value savings ($billion) 3% discount rate:
Net present value savings ($billion) 7% discount rate:


Federal Date States
Potential Effective Date of Updated Standard 2020
Updated DOE Standard Due 2017
Test Procedure - Last Revised - Standby/Off Mode 2012
2nd Federal Standard Effective 2012
2nd Federal Standard Adopted (DOE) 2009
Test Procedure - Last Revised - Active Mode 1997
1st Federal Standard Effective 1990
1st Federal Standard Adopted (Congress) 1987
NAECA Initial Federal Legislation Enacted 1987

Timeline reflects state standards from 2001 to present; federal standards from inception to present.