Ceiling Fans


Ceiling fans include ceiling fans used in homes as well as those used in commercial and industrial spaces. Compared to typical residential standard and hugger ceiling fans, commercial and industrial ceiling fans often have larger blade diameters or the ability to spin at faster speeds.


The current standards for ceiling fans took effect in 2020 and are the first efficiency performance standards for ceiling fans. The minimum energy efficiency levels for standard, hugger, and high-speed small-diameter fans are a function of fan blade diameter and are expressed as airflow delivered in cubic feet per minute (CFM) per unit of power consumption in watts (W). Large-diameter ceiling fans (LDCFs) must meet minimum Ceiling Fan Energy Index (CFEI) requirements at high speed (1.00) and 40% speed (1.31).

In 2023, DOE proposed amended standards for ceiling fans that would reduce energy consumption by about 5-10% for most standard and hugger fans. For the largest ceiling fans (>53”), the proposed standards would effectively require the use of more-efficient DC motors, which can cut energy use in half.

*CFEI is the ratio of the input power of a reference fan to the input power of the actual fan model. 


As of 2020, nearly 90 million US households used at least one ceiling fan, and about a quarter of all households used four or more ceiling fans. The efficiency of ceiling fans can be improved primarily by using more efficient motors.

Savings through what year?: 2049
Energy saved (quads): 2
CO2 savings (million metric tons): 120
Net present value savings ($billion) 3% discount rate: 12.12
Net present value savings ($billion) 7% discount rate: 4.48


Federal Date States
Potential Effective Date of Updated Standard 2028
Updated DOE Standard Due 2025
2nd Federal Standard Effective 2020
2nd Federal Standard Adopted (DOE) 2017
Test Procedure - Last Revised - Active Mode 2016
2007 MD Standard Effective *
1st Federal Standard Effective 2007
1st Federal Standard Adopted (Congress) 2005
EPACT Initial Federal Legislation Enacted 2005
2005 NY Standard Adopted
2004 MD Standard Adopted

* State standard never went into effect due to preemption by federal standard.

States not showing an effective date have an ongoing rulemaking process to determine standards.

Timeline reflects state standards from 2001 to present; federal standards from inception to present.