Commercial Dishwashers


Commercial dishwashers are used in places such as restaurants, bars, schools, hospitals, and institutional cafeterias.


There are no national standards for commercial dishwashers. In May 2018, Vermont adopted the first state standards based on ENERGY STAR Version 2.0, which has been in effect since 2013. Colorado and Washington adopted the same standards in 2019. The ENERGY STAR specification includes an idle energy rate requirement, which reduces energy use when a dishwasher is powered on but not actively running, and a water efficiency requirement. ENERGY STAR–qualified dishwashers use about 20–40% less water than standard models. In 2015, 67% of total shipments of commercial dishwashers were ENERGY STAR qualified.


Commercial dishwashers are designed in various configurations and include both “high temp” models, which use hot water to achieve sanitization, and “low temp” models, which use a chemical sanitizing solution.


Federal Date States
2023 NV Standard Effective
2023 RI Standard Effective
2022 DC Standard Effective
2022 MA Standard Effective
2022 OR Standard Effective
2021 RI Standard Adopted
2021 OR Standard Adopted
2021 NV Standard Adopted
2021 MA Standard Adopted
2021 WA Standard Effective
2021 CO Standard Effective
2020 DC Standard Adopted
2020 VT Standard Effective
2019 WA Standard Adopted
2019 CO Standard Adopted
2018 VT Standard Adopted

Timeline reflects state standards from 2001 to present; federal standards from inception to present.