Commercial Steam Cookers


Commercial steam cookers (or compartment steamers) are used in commercial kitchens and can be powered by either electricity or gas.


There are currently no national standards for commercial steam cookers. In May 2018, Vermont adopted state standards for commercial steam cookers based on ENERGY STAR Version 1.2, which has been in effect since 2003. Colorado, Massachusetts, Nevada, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, and the District of Columbia adopted the same standards. According to EPA, commercial steam cookers meeting the ENERGY STAR specification offer shorter cook times, higher production rates, and reduced heat loss. In addition to saving energy, commercial steam cookers meeting the ENERGY STAR specification consume about 90% less water than standard models. A traditional steam cooker uses on average about 175,000 gallons of water per year.


While traditional steam cooker designs incorporate a separate boiler or steam generator to produce steam and require a continuous stream of water for cooling, almost all ENERGY STAR–qualified steam cookers use “boilerless” or “connectionless” designs, which do not require cooling water. In 2020, 46% of total shipments of commercial steam cookers were ENERGY STAR qualified.


Federal Date States
2024 MD Standard Effective
2023 NV Standard Effective
2023 RI Standard Effective
2022 MD Standard Adopted
2022 DC Standard Effective
2022 MA Standard Effective
2022 OR Standard Effective
2022 NJ Standard Effective
2021 RI Standard Adopted
2021 OR Standard Adopted
2021 NV Standard Adopted
2021 MA Standard Adopted
2021 NJ Standard Adopted
2021 WA Standard Effective
2021 CO Standard Effective
2020 DC Standard Adopted
2020 VT Standard Effective
2019 WA Standard Adopted
2019 CO Standard Adopted
2018 VT Standard Adopted

Timeline reflects state standards from 2001 to present; federal standards from inception to present.