Compact Fluorescent Lamps


Compact Fluorescent lamps (CFLs) use fluorescent technology to produce light. Most CFLs can fit into fixtures designed for traditional incandescent light bulbs.


CFL standards were adopted by Congress in the Energy Policy Act of 2005.  The standards are a subset of the Energy Star criteria for CFLs and are intended to ensure that CFLs sold in the U.S. are good quality products that will satisfy consumers.  The standards took effect in January 2006.

The Energy Independence and Security Act (EISA) of 2007 included CFLs in the definition of General Service Lamps (GSLs). See the General Service Incandescent Lamp description for details on the standards.


CFLs are about 75% more efficient than traditional incandescents and last 8-10 times as long.


Federal Date States
1st Federal Standard Effective 2006
EPACT Initial Federal Legislation Enacted 2005
1st Federal Standard Adopted (Congress) 2005

Timeline reflects state standards from 2001 to present; federal standards from inception to present.