Portable Electric Spas


Portable electric spas are free-standing hot tubs that are electrically heated. 


California adopted the first standard for portable electric spas in 2004. The standard set a maximum limit on standby power consumption based on the volume of water a spa holds. Standby power refers to the energy consumed to maintain the temperature set point and to circulate and filter the water when the spa is not being used. In 2007, standards equivalent to the California standard were adopted by Connecticut and Oregon. Arizona and Washington subsequently adopted equivalent standards in 2009.

In 2014, the American National Standard Institute (ANSI) approved an industry standard for portable electric spa efficiency (ANSI/APSP/ICC 14-2014), which was developed by the Association of Pool and Spa Professionals (APSP) and other stakeholders. The 2014 ANSI standard sets a more stringent limit on allowable standby power consumption. Colorado, Vermont, and Washington adopted the 2014 standards for portable electric spas. In 2019, ANSI updated their standards again. California updated their standards in 2019 generally aligning with the 2019 ANSI standards. The District of Columbia, Massachusetts, Nevada, Oregon, and Rhode Island adopted the 2019 ANSI standards. 


More than five million US households have spas. Typical portable electric spas waste a significant amount of energy through heat loss when the spa is not being used. A typical 300-gallon spa just meeting the current California standard uses more than 200 W of standby power, or about 1,750 kWh per year. For comparison, an average new refrigerator uses about 500 kWh per year.


Federal Date States
2024 MD Standard Effective
2024 WA Standard Effective
2023 NV Standard Effective
2023 ME Standard Effective
2023 RI Standard Effective
2022 MD Standard Adopted
2022 WA Standard Adopted
2022 DC Standard Effective
2022 MA Standard Effective
2022 OR Standard Effective
2022 NJ Standard Effective
2021 ME Standard Adopted
2021 RI Standard Adopted
2021 OR Standard Adopted
2021 NV Standard Adopted
2021 MA Standard Adopted
2021 NJ Standard Adopted
2021 CO Standard Effective
2020 DC Standard Adopted
2020 VT Standard Effective
2020 CA Standard Effective
2019 CA Standard Adopted
2019 CO Standard Adopted
2019 CA Standard Effective
2018 VT Standard Adopted
2018 CA Standard Adopted
2012 AZ Standard Effective
2010 WA Standard Effective
2009 OR Standard Effective
2009 AZ Standard Adopted
2009 WA Standard Adopted
2009 CT Standard Effective
2007 OR Standard Adopted
2007 CT Standard Adopted
2006 CA Standard Effective
2004 CA Standard Adopted

Timeline reflects state standards from 2001 to present; federal standards from inception to present.