Urinals are most commonly found in commercial and institutional restrooms.


The current national standards for urinals took effect in 1994 and set a maximum water use of 1.0 gallons per flush (gpf). In December 2010, DOE officially waived federal preemption of the national urinal standard. This waiver of federal preemption allows states to set standards provided they are more stringent than the national standard.

In 2014, Colorado set standards for flushing urinals that set a maximum water use of 0.5 gpf. In 2015, California set standards at 0.125 gpf for wall-mounted urinals. As of 2024, 13 states had adopted standards for urinals that are more stringent than the national standard. 


EPA's voluntary WaterSense program (which is similar to ENERGY STAR but focused on helping consumers identify water-efficient products) has set criteria for flushing urinals at no more than 0.5 gpf. Replacing a 1.0 gpf flushing urinal with a WaterSense labeled flushing urinal can save over 2,300 gallons of water per year (assuming that the average urinal is flushed approximately 18 times per day and is in use 260 days per year).


Federal Date States
2024 MD Standard Effective
2023 ME Standard Effective
2023 RI Standard Effective
2022 MD Standard Adopted
2022 DC Standard Effective
2022 NY Standard Effective
2022 MA Standard Effective
2022 NJ Standard Effective
2021 ME Standard Adopted
2021 RI Standard Adopted
2021 MA Standard Adopted
2021 NJ Standard Adopted
2021 WA Standard Effective
2020 DC Standard Adopted
2020 VT Standard Effective
2020 NV Standard Effective
2019 NY Standard Adopted
2019 NV Standard Adopted
2019 WA Standard Adopted
2018 VT Standard Adopted
2016 CO Standard Effective
2016 CA Standard Effective
2015 CA Standard Adopted
2014 CO Standard Adopted
2014 CA Standard Effective
2014 TX Standard Effective
2009 TX Standard Adopted
2007 CA Standard Adopted
1st Federal Standard Effective 1994
EPACT Initial Federal Legislation Enacted 1992
1st Federal Standard Adopted (Congress) 1992

Timeline reflects state standards from 2001 to present; federal standards from inception to present.