Most dishwashers are classified as “standard” size, which means that they can hold at least eight place settings. “Compact” dishwashers have capacities of less than eight place settings.


The current standards for dishwashers took effect in 2013. The standards, which were based on a consensus agreement between manufacturers and efficiency advocates, specify minimum energy and water efficiency levels. The standards require that standard-size dishwashers use no more than 307 kWh per year and 5.0 gallons of water per cycle.

In 2023, DOE proposed amended standards for dishwashers that would reduce energy and water use by 15% and 34%, respectively, relative to the current standards. Dishwashers were also covered in a 2023 joint recommendation between efficiency advocates and AHAM. DOE is expected to finalize amended standards based on this joint recommendation. 


Amended standards will be based on an updated test method, which requires the test cycle to meet a specific cleaning performance threshold. 

Standard-size dishwashers meeting the ENERGY STAR specification (Version 7.0) use no more than 240 kWh per year and 3.2 gallons per cycle.

Savings through what year?: 2047
Energy saved (quads): .07
CO2 savings (million metric tons): 4.06
Net present value savings ($billion) 3% discount rate: .46
Net present value savings ($billion) 7% discount rate: .08


Fact Sheets



ASAP Press Releases



Federal Date States
Potential Effective Date of Updated Standard 2024
Updated DOE Standard Due 2021
4th Federal Standard Effective 2013
Test Procedure - Last Revised - Standby/Off Mode 2012
4th Federal Standard Adopted (DOE) 2012
3rd Federal Standard Effective 2010
3rd Federal Standard Adopted (Congress) 2007
Test Procedure - Last Revised - Active Mode 2003
2nd Federal Standard Effective 1994
2nd Federal Standard Adopted (DOE) 1991
1st Federal Standard Effective 1988
1st Federal Standard Adopted (Congress) 1987
NAECA Initial Federal Legislation Enacted 1987

Timeline reflects state standards from 2001 to present; federal standards from inception to present.