State Standards

States have historically led the nation in the development of new appliance standards. A typical progression begins with a state, usually California, setting an efficiency standard for a particular product. Other states then adopt identical or similar standards. Once several states have adopted standards, manufacturers of the affected products will often negotiate with the states and efficiency advocacy groups in order to develop a consensus recommendation for a national standard. In general, manufacturers, distributors and retailers prefer national standards over a state-by-state patchwork. Consensus recommendations for new standards have formed the basis for nearly all initial national standards.  

By setting appliance efficiency standards, states can decrease energy use, save consumers and businesses money, and reduce greenhouse gases and other pollutants. Usually new state standards cover products for which there are no existing national standards because, with limited exceptions, national standards preempt state standards. We provide the information below to assist state energy offices, legislators, and policy advocates.


If you’d like information about… Go to…
Savings for your state

Potential savings from 2021 state standards and 2017 States Go First report overview and 2021 update

Savings from national standards and White Paper (2017)

Current state standards Status of state efficiency standards 
Historical state standards State standards adopted since 2001 and List of products 
Setting standards in your state

See the 2021 Model Bill or contact Marianne at or Brian Fadie at

Current state policies and incentives for renewables and efficiency Link to DSIRE (Database of State Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency)

State Adoption of Energy Efficiency Standards

The following table includes only those efficiency standards that states are responsible for enforcing. Many standards adopted by states since 2001 have subsequently been enacted federally and are now the responsibility of the federal government. They are not included in this table. For a historical listing of state standards, see: State Standards adopted since 2001

The date indicated is the year of adoption (not the effective year).

Battery Chargers 2012 2013
Commercial Dishwashers 2019 2018 2019
Commercial Fryers 2019 2018 2019
Commercial Steam Cookers 2019 2018 2019
Compact Audio Equipment 2004 2011 2007
Compressors 2019 2019 2018 2019
Computers and Computer Systems 2016 2019 2019 2018 2019
Deep-Dimming Fluorescent Ballasts 2015
DVD Players and Recorders 2004 2011 2007
External Power Supplies 2012
Faucets 2015 2019 2019 2019 2018 2019
General Service Lamps 2008 2019 2019 2017 2019
High Light Output Double-Ended Quartz Halogen Lamps 2013
HIgh-CRI Linear Fluorescent Lamps 2019 2019 2018 2019
Hot Food Holding Cabinets 2004 2019 2007 2007 2007 2008 2007 2006 2018 2009
Lawn Spray Sprinklers 2019 2019 2019 2018 2019
Mercury Vapor Lamp Ballasts 2005
Metal Halide Lamp Fixtures 2009
Pool Pumps 2009 2004 2007 2009
Portable Air Conditioners 2019 2019 2018 2019
Portable Electric Spas 2009 2019 2019 2007 2007 2018 2009
Residential Ventilating Fans 2019 2018 2019
Showerheads 2015 2014 2019 2019 2018 2019
Small-Diameter Directional Lamps 2016
Televisions 2009 2011 2013
Toilets 2015 2014 2010 2019 2009 2019
Uninterruptible Power Supplies 2019 2018 2019
Urinals 2015 2014 2019 2009 2018 2019
Water Dispensers 2004 2019 2007 2007 2007 2008 2007 2006 2018 2019
a. Year indicates the date the standard was adopted.
b. CA metal halide fixture standards are exempt from federal preemption
c. CA accelerates 2020 general service incandescent standards to 2018
d. This table only includes standards which states are responsible for enforcing. Many standards enacted by states since 2001 have subsequently been enacted federally and are now the responsibility of the federal government. They are not included in this table.
e. State standards for general service lamps cover all or some portion of light bulb types covered by Federal standards that take effect on 1/1/20. Because the Trump administration has proposed to eliminate the 2020 standards for many bulb types and claimed the 2020 standards may not apply at all, states that have enacted these standards will guard against certain types of inefficient bulbs from being sold.